(406) 234-2705 info@mcaedc.org

Miles City Area Economic Development Council

Board of Directors

Rita Kratky, President

Dr. Rita Kratky was a commercial ASID interior designer before spending the last twenty-five years’ working in higher education at four institutions from two different states, Colorado State University, Front Range Community College, Montana State University Billings/City College, and Miles Community College.  Rita’s area of expertise include:  Community College Leadership, Advising, Enrollment Management, Curriculum Development, Workforce Development, Community Outreach, Accreditation and Strategic Planning.  Rita and her family have lived in Montana since 2006 and enjoy spending family time together riding their horses, bird hunting, fishing and photography. 

Jenny Sloan, Vice President

Jenny holds a Bachelors Degree in Environmental Design and a Masters in Architecture. She married her husband, Josh Sloan, in 2005 and lived in Helena for five years before moving back home. They rediscovered how great this community is and are so grateful to be raising two kids here. They love traveling together and taking adventures near and far. Jenny loves the simple things in life like a great conversation over a cup of coffee, hiking with no cell service, and discovering a new talented musician. Jenny is a board member of Keep Miles City Beautiful, Miles City Varience Board, and serves at church. 

Tara Andrews, Secretary


Tara has a Bachelor of Science from Montana State University and a Masters from University of Nebraska. She has lived in Miles City for 30 years and is starting her 29th year with MSU extensions as an extension’s agent. She is a board member of RSVP, Custer County Educational Foundation, MCAEDC, Eastern Montana Industries, and Board of Trustees of Miles Community College.

Keith Holmlund, Past President

Keith was born in Miles City and graduated from Custer County High School in 1963. He enlisted in the US Army in 1965 doing track and wheeled vehicle fuel and electric repair, generator and heavy equipment repair and operating. After being discharged, Keith worked at MDU, Pines Hills School, ran a trucking business, MC emergency vehicle mechanic while managing the wildland fire program, water/wastewater plant operator and has been a county commissioner for the last 9 years. He enjoys hunting, building things out of steel, working his land- irrigating and raising hay, and spending time with his 8 grandchildren and their parents.

Krista Stubblefield, Treasurer

As of December, Krista has been working with First Interstate Bank for 20 years. She is currenlty the Retail Manager at the Miles City branch. Krista has also been a MCAEDC board member since 2015.

Lew Vadheim, Development Committee Chair

Lew is a retired physician, specializing in internal medicine and sports medicine. He has lived in Miles City for more than 40 years. During his professional career he was associated with the Garberson Clinic, Holy Rosary Hospital and Billing Clinic Miles City.  For several years Lew’s volunteer activities have included working with the high school athletic programs as well as teaching taekwondo. On the national level he served as team physician for the U. S. Cross Country Ski Team and U. S. Taekwondo, as well as for the U. S. Olympic Committee at several international events.   Lew was a team physician for the 1998 Olympic Team in Nagano, Japan. Currently he volunteers at the Waterworks Art Museum as a stained-glass instructor.  For the past 15 years he has been involved with MCAEDC including two terms as president and currently with the Development committee.

Since retirement Lew has enjoyed travel, spending time in the Beartooth Mountains, gardening, and working in a variety of art mediums including watercolor, pastel, stained glass, and woodcarving. 

Amy Rolandson, Finance Committee Chair

Amy is a native of eastern Montana and a graduate of Rocky Mountain College.

She is the commercial loan manager at Stockman Bank – Miles City.  She has been in banking for nearly 16 years.  In her spare time, she enjoys playing golf, reading and spending time with family and friends at Fort Peck Lake.

She is a board member of the MCAEDC and has also served on the Miles City Town and Country Club board.

Board Members

Dayna Alder, Wal-Mart

Jim Atchison, Southeastern Montana Development Corporation

Tracy Baker, Miles Community College

Ally Capps, Miles City

Jolene Dutton, CCDHS, Leadership Committee

John Hollowell, City of Miles City

Ken Holmlund, Montana State Legislature

Rick Huber, A&K Transport

John Laney, Miles City Area Chamber of Commerce, Development Committee

Steve Morris, Cowtown Ag Manufacturing

Emma Morrison, Stockman Bank, Leadership Committee

Garrett Mostowski, First Presbyterian Church, Development Committee

Katy Peterson, Mid-Rivers Communications

Amber Rainey, Hardesty Real Estate

Jack Regan, Retired

Dixie Rieger, Waterworks Art Museum

BeKa Stein Phipps, Miles Community College, Project Committee

Board Meetings – Minutes & Agendas

Agenda May 7, 2020

4 May Board Meeting Agenda May 7, 2020      7:00 am AGENDA President: Rita Kratky, Vice President: Jenny Sloan, Treasurer: Krista Stubblefield, Past President: Keith Holmlund, Executive Director: Elizabeth Patten, Finance Committee Chair: Amy Rolandson, Project and...

read more

Minutes April 2, 2020

mcaedc.org/…/3-April-Board-Meeting-Minutes.docx Minutes President: Rita Kratky, Vice President: Jenny Sloan, Past President: Keith Holmlund, Executive Director: Elizabeth Patten, Project and Development Committee Co-Chairs: Lew Vadheim and Jenny Sloan Board Members:...

read more

MCAEDC 2020 Board Meeting Tentative Locations

  March 5, 2020- 7:00am @ Bucking Horse Saloon (3105 Steel St, Miles City) April 2, 2020- 7:00am @ Spoonful (115 N 7th St, Miles City) May 7, 2020- 7:00am @ Sleep Inn & Suites; Yellowstone room (1006 S Haynes Ave, Miles City) June 4, 2020- 7:00am @...

read more

Minutes Feb 6, 2020

1 February Board Meeting Minutes   Persons Present: President: Rita Kratky, Vice President: Jenny Sloan, Treasurer: Krista Stubblefield, Past President: Keith Holmlund, Executive Director: Elizabeth Patten, Finance Committee Chair: Amy Rolandson, SEMDC Executive...

read more

Minutes Dec 5, 2019

  Minutes Vice President: Jenny Sloan, Secretary: Tara Andrews, Treasurer: Krista Stubblefield, Past President: Keith Holmlund, Executive Director: Elizabeth Patten, Finance Committee Chair: Amy Rolandson, Leadership Committee Chair: Tara Andrews, Project and...

read more

Minutes Nov 7, 2019

7:00 Call to Order Welcome Board Members and Guests Introduction of Kyla Schleuning, Administrative Assistant Approval of Previous Meeting Minutes Ally Capps Motioned to approve Steve Morris seconded Motion passed Public Comment- NA 7:10 Operational Reports Board...

read more

Stay Connected to MCAEDC

Sign up to receive news and updates from Miles City Area Economic Development Council